One of the things that I love about allergy-free baking is the challenge. I enjoy taking a recipe that is known and loved and turn it into a treat that my son, and others that share his allergies can have. I also love being able to hear my friends rave over something and then hear their shock when I tell them it's vegan.
Like Vegan Oreo Truffles.
Did you notice in the title it says "Oreos"? Did you know they are vegan, which means they are free of dairy and eggs as well as any other animal products. Now don't mistake vegan for healthy, however, it won’t kill my kid, and so in that terms, it’s healthy enough. (I used regular Oreos, but read the labels, because some DO contain milk and may be in a facility that also produces peanut products).
Oreo Truffles go back a long time; I couldn't even tell you where it originated from or who gets credit for the original recipe. You may have seen them served on a platter at a party or may have even tasted one (or 3) before. Basically, its crushed Oreos, mixed with cream cheese then coated in chocolate or candy coating. Tastes amazing, but absolutely NOT what you want to hand anyone with food allergies or certain restrictions. Here’s where I come in, making this something you now CAN eat.
There is an abundance of peppers growing in my garden, so much so, I can barely keep up with using them. I've frozen some, made salsa, incorporated them into sauces and meals and even-handed them out in little brown bags to the adults during Halloween (I seriously have that many!). I felt like I was running out of ideas on how else to use these Serrano, until I ran across a jar of pepper jelly in my fridge and was inspired to make my own homemade jelly.